Facebook Ready To Protect Your Nude Photos Only If You Share It With Them




 With "revenge p0rn attacks" infamously becoming popular by the day, social media giant Facebook is trying to protect your p0rn pictures from being shared on their social network if only you are willing to share the images with them.

 Images that are shared with Facebook will be hashed to create a digital fingerprint which the company can use to I.D the same images if someone else tries to upload them. This also applies to Instagram and Messenger

Currently, Facebook is working with the Australian Office of the eSafety Commissioner to test the system in Australia.

 Speaking to the press, government e-safety commissioner Julia Inman Grant said that one in five Australian women aged 18 - 45 and one in four indigenous Australians have been victims of revenge p0rn.


"It is really important that Facebook is taking this proactive leadership step. What we'are hearing from victims is that its not just the initial betrayal of trust, its the fear and anxiety that follows them after the image has been posted," she said.

 "This lets the victim take control and be proactive in their own safety, when so often the burden is on the victim to report to multiple platforms and trace where the image has been. Our vision is that these images could be taken down from every website simultaneously."

 Facebook hopes to trial the scheme in the UK, US and Canada and  subsequently roll it out to other regions too.

Facebook Launches Messenger 4, A New Simplified Messenger


Facebook is rolling out a new simplified version of Messenger called "Messenger 4". The new Messenger app promises a more simplified experience focusing on the most important features that consumers wants.

The new Messenger has a simple design but yet powerful features that put more focus on messaging and connecting.

Facebook made the Messenger 4 easier for users to navigate and find the features that they care about. The new Messenger comes with three tabs instead of the nine tabs that are on the core Messenger app.

User conversations with other Messenger users and groups will appear in the front and centered in the Chats tab. There is also a camera icon at the top for easy access to users to capture and share their selfies.


"Once you tap into Messenger 4's People tab, you can fins friends, cathc up on people's Stories, and see everyone who is active right now. Then you have the discover tab, where you can connect with businesses to get the latest deals, play Instant Games, book your next vacation, follow the news and more," Stan Chudnovsky, VP of Messenger said.

Facebook made the new Messenger easier for uses to personalize their conversations by expressing themselves using a customization called color gradients. This feature allows users to use colours to reflect their mood or topic of conversation.

The social media company also promised to roll out other features for Messenger 4 in phases in the coming weeks. These features includes a Dark Mode, a re-skinned interface that cuts down on the glare from the users phone.

Facebook Messenger's Unsend Feature Will Allow Users To Delete Sent Messages Within 10 Minutes


Release Notes of  Facebook's Messenger suggest users of the messaging application will soon be able to "unsend" sent messages in the Messenger app within the span of 10 minutes.  


Facebook made its plans for the new feature known in the release notes for the latest update of the Messenger app for iPad and iPhone on Tuesday. 

Here's what the note reads:

"Coming soon: Remove a message from a chat after it's been sent. 
"If you accidentally send the wrong photo, incorrect information or message the wrong thread, you can easily correct it by removing the message within ten minutes of sending it."

Last month, Twitter user Jane Wong shared screenshots of the new Messenger feature which was still undergoing test then.

 Jane Wong explained how the Messenger feature will look similar to that of WhatsApp whereby users will be able to unsend a message within a given period of time. She went further to say that users won't be able to unsend a message after it has been viewed by the recipient. 

The Messenger 'unsend' feature has been in the works since April, after Facebook admitted that it has been quietly deleting messages sent by CEO Mark Zuckerberg. 

Search

Blog Archive